Featured press

The Epiphany Machine

A Most-Anticipated book of 2017 by The Millions

Best New Science Fiction for Summer by The Washington Post

Best New Science Fiction for Summer by Newsday

"Hilarious...a razor-sharp alternate history."
The Washington Post

“With pitch-black humor worthy of Kafka, Gerrard’s second novel encourages us to pose this burning question: What are we hiding from ourselves?”
O, The Oprah Magazine

"This is a wildly charming, morally serious bildungsroman with the rare potential to change the way readers think."
Publishers Weekly, starred review

“An affecting exploration of fate and the clash of our private and public selves…ambitiously wrestling in the muck of big questions. A pleasurably speculative yarn about family and ethics.”
Kirkus Reviews

"A thoughtful, philosophical novel about self-knowledge and friendship and the way the internet interacts with art....It leads to some dark and fascinating places."
Vox

"A wild ride through a dark alternate history that resonates with the current political landscape."
BOMB Magazine

"Whereas so much of what is called 'kafkaesque' doesn’t deserve that distinction, Gerrard earns it."
Lit Hub

"Gerrard is interrogating the nature of human interaction and human inaction with aplomb."
Electric Literature

"Gerrard’s novel is most certainly a mirror."
The Brooklyn Rail

"David Burr Gerrard's ambitious alternate history The Epiphany Machine is one of the year's finest books."
Largehearted Boy

"Dark humored yet sincere, this book will awaken your inner magician, reminding you to trust your gut instincts and to create your own destiny boldly."
Signature Reads

Profiles and interviews


Short Century

"It may be a novel, but it's more than just fiction. The collaborative clutching of the joystick by representatives of the state and the press corps is acutely symbolic of the contemporary panorama in the US, where military destruction conceived of in a gendered, sexualized manner is somehow thought capable of bringing about gender equality and sexual liberation in targeted nations." —Belén Fernández, Vice

"Fans of Vladimir Nabokov and Philip Roth, take note: this tale of a disgraced neo-con journalist trying to clear his name – everywhere from Iraq to the Ivy League - smolders with delicious fury. Debuting author David Burr Gerrard here proves a newcomer to watch." —The Barnes and Noble Review

"David Burr Gerrard's masterfully woven debut novel...takes the reader from discussions of war, journalism, and their agencies into a metaphysical, almost Nabokovian intrigue." —Matthew Daddona, The LA Review of Books

"A politically resonant work." —Tobias Carroll, Vol. 1 Brooklyn

"This is one of the most original, intelligent and impressive novels I've read in a long time. It's biting black comedy about an American journalist who vociferously supported the Iraq War, for reasons too complicated to explain and with consequences that turn out to be disastrous. It's quick, smart, funny and a terrific read." —Adelle Waldman, The Hindustan Times, "The Big Brunch Summer Reading List"

"Gerrard’s manic and hilariously unreliable narrator is utterly modern, desperate, comic, and smart, like those of Philip Roth and Thomas Bernhard, but also classic in the tragic sense. Hunt’s demise is essentially self-inflicted, unavoidable, and foretold. Like one of Hunt’s beloved drone strikes, Short Century hits with devastating accuracy." —Scott Cheshire, The Brooklyn Rail

"Gerrard’s masterful prose is at once achingly personal and intensely political, reminding us over and over again that the two are impossibly intertwined." —Eliza Berman, Tottenville Review

"Short Century is at its core an emotionally arresting, wonderfully tragic novel: a novel not about politics, but about people. The ideologue Hunt and his followers may claim to be “brother” and “sister” to the whole world, but it is in the suffocating, expertly specific relationships Gerrard so elegantly draws that the truth really lies." —Tara Isabella Burton, Tweed's Magazine